Solas Chríost National School
Go to content

Main menu:

Dates for your Diary

School Zone
SCHOOL CALENDAR / FÉILIRE SCOILE 2017 - 2018


Graduation 6th Class
7:00pm, Wednesday 27th June, 2018 - School Hall.

June - Summer Holidays
School closes after school on Friday 29th June, 2018
(12:00pm Half Day - JI to 5th Class)
(11:50pm Half Day - Speech and Language Class)
(6th Class Half Day on Thursday 28th June, 2018)


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SCHOOL CALENDAR / FÉILIRE SCOILE 2018 - 2019



Click here to download the 2018/19 school calendar.

Closures are highlighted in yellow

September - School Reopens:
Reopens on Thursday 30th August 2018, 8:45am.

September - Sponsored Walk
Week Beginning Monday 17th September, 2018.

October - Internet Safety Week
Monday 8th October to Friday 12th October, 2018.

October - Maths Week
Monday 15th October to Friday 19th October, 2018.

October - Parents Association AGM:
School Hall.
7:15pm, Monday 22nd October, 2018.

October – Junior Infant - Parents Open Evening
7:45pm, Monday 22nd October, 2018.

October - Stay Safe Programme Implementation - JI to 6th Class
Monday 22nd October to Friday 26th October, 2018. www.staysafe.ie

October - Mid-Term Break:
School closes after school on Friday 26th October, 2018. (Full School Day)
Reopens on Monday 5th November, 2018.

November - Closing Date Applications for Enrolment - Junior Infants Sept. 2019
Friday 9th November, 2018.

November - Science Week
Monday 12th November to Friday 16th November, 2018.

November - Parent / Teacher Meetings:
Wednesday 14th & Thursday 15th November, 2018.
(Parents will be informed in advance of day/time)

November - Photographer - Junior Infant Children (+ siblings)
9:00am Monday 19th November, 2018.

December - Turning on of Christmas Lights
7:15pm Monday 10th December, 2018.

December - Christmas Concert (JI to 1st Class)
Day Show: 11:00am Tuesday 18th December, 2018
Evening Show: 6:30pm Wednesday 19th December, 2018

December - Christmas Holidays:
School closes after school on Friday 21st December, 2018. (Half Day)
Reopens on Monday 7th January, 2019.
(12:00pm Half Day - JI to 6th Class)
(11:50pm Half Day - Speech and Language Class)

January - Anti Bullying Week / Cyber Bullying Week
Monday 14th January to Friday  18th January, 2019.

January - RSE (5th & 6th Class)
Monday 21st January to Friday 25th January, 2019.

January - Catholic Schools' Week
Monday 28th January to Friday 1st February, 2019.

February - Book Fair:
Tuesday 5th February to Thursday 7th February, 2019.

February - First Confession (2nd Class)
11:00am, Monday 11th February, 2019, School Hall.

February - Ceremony of Light (6th Class)
7:30pm, Monday 11th February, 2019, School Hall.

February / March / April Swimming 2019:
3rd, 4th, 5th & 6th Class Swimming - Tuesdays 12th, 26th February, 5th, 12th, 19th, 26th March, 2nd April 2019.

February Mid-Term Break:
School closed from Monday 18th to Friday 22nd February 2019. (inclusive)

February - Closing Date Applications for Enrolment - Speech and Language Classes Sept. 2019
Thursday 28th February, 2019.

March - Seachtain na Gaeilge:
Monday 11th March to Friday 15th March, 2019.

March - St Patricks Weekend
School closed on Monday 18th March, 2019.

April/May First Communion (Month subject to change)
10:00am, TBA, 2019 St. Mark's Church, Springfield.

April - Easter Concert (3rd to 5th Class)
Evening Show: 6:30pm Wednesday 10th April, 2019

April/May - Confirmation (Month subject to change)
11:00am, Date TBA, 2019, Church of the Incarnation, Fettercairn.

March - Easter Holidays*
School closes after school on Friday 12th April, 2019. (Half Day)
Reopens on Monday 29th April, 2019.
(12:00pm Half Day - JI to 6th Class)
(11:50pm Half Day - Speech and Language Class)

May - Bank Holiday:
School closed on Monday 6th May, 2019.

May - Induction for Junior Infant Starting at the end August, 2019.
1:45pm Tuesday 14th May, 2019.

May - Sports Day
Monday 27th May, 2019. (Start of Active Schools' Week)
(Weather permitting - May be postponed until the next suitable school day)
 
9:00am to 11:30am – Junior Infants to 2nd Class Sports Day
 
           11:30am to 2:15pm – 3rd Class to 6th Class Sports Day

June - Bank Holiday Weekend
School closed on Monday 3rd and Tuesday 4th June, 2019.

June - School Tours
Wednesday 5th to Friday 14th June, 2019.

June - End of Year Report Cards sent Home
Thursday 13th June, 2019.

Graduation 6th Class
7:00pm, Wednesday 26th June, 2019 - School Hall.
6th Class children - Half Day - Thursday 27th June, 2018.

June - Summer Holidays
School closes after school on Friday 28th June, 2019.
(12:00pm Half Day - JI to 5th Class)
(11:50pm Half Day - Speech and Language Class)
(6th Class Half Day on Thursday 27th June, 2019)

TBA - Photos Communion & Confirmation / Date of Communion / Date of Confirmation

NB: Discretionary school days (5 Days TBA) as well as the first 3 days of the Easter Holidays may be used to make up for school closures, due to unforeseen circumstances (e.g snow days etc).*
See Circular 0009/2017 for more details.

Updated June 2018
Back to content | Back to main menu